Home / Guides / Best AI Usage Trackers for Windows
Best AI Usage Trackers for Windows (2026)
Most AI usage trackers started on the Mac. On Windows the field is newer and more scattered: taskbar widgets, tray apps, terminal dashboards and an editor extension, each covering a different set of tools. This page lines them up from each project's own documentation, so you can pick by the questions that actually decide it: which tools it covers, whether the number stays in view, and whether it warns you.
Last updated October 8, 2026 · Published September 2026 · By Soren Starck · Every third-party source was read on October 6, 2026. We did not install, test or audit any of them. SessionWatcher is our product, and its row is our own description.
Side by side
Read left to right for one tool, or down a column to compare. “Not stated” means the project's documentation is silent, not that the answer is no. Looking for CodexBar itself? It has no Windows build; the ports are in CodexBar for Windows, and ours is SessionWatcher for Windows.
| Tool | Kind | Tools covered | Always visible | Alerts | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SessionWatcherSoren Starck (ours) | Native Windows app: readout inside the taskbar (Windows 11), popover on click | 20: Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, GitHub Copilot, Gemini CLI, Antigravity, opencode, Devin, Grok, OpenRouter, Z.ai, Kimi, Qwen, DeepSeek and more | Yes, in the taskbar (a small window beside it on Windows 10) | Desktop notifications at 70% and 90% by default, and on reset | Paid: from $6.99 one-time; 7-day free trial that unlocks all of Pro; one key also works on a Mac |
| Claude Code Usage MonitorCodeZeno | Taskbar widget, with controls in the system tray | Claude Code, Codex, Google Antigravity, OpenCode Go, Cursor, Grok Build and GitHub Copilot; several Claude Code and Codex accounts | Yes, “lives in the Windows taskbar” | Not stated | Free, MIT |
| Win-CodexBarnesszer (fork of CodexBar) | System-tray app (Tauri), plus a CLI | “56 providers”, including Codex, Claude, Copilot, OpenRouter, Cursor and Gemini | Yes, in the system tray | Not stated | Free, MIT |
| OpenQuotadeviffyy | Tray app (Tauri) with a popup or a floating panel; also macOS and Linux | 12: Claude Code (several accounts), Codex, Cursor, Antigravity, Copilot, Devin, Grok, OpenCode, OpenRouter, Z.ai, Kimi and MiniMax | Yes, pinned values in the tray | Pacing alerts: whether usage will last until the reset | Free, MIT |
| Syrtis for WindowsNanako0129 (port of TokenBar) | Tray icon with seven display modes, and a flyout with quota, model and history views | AI coding agents read from local session logs, on the same parsing core as the macOS app (25+ tools there) | Yes, values drawn into the tray icon | Not stated | Free, MIT |
| Usage Monitor for ClaudeJens Duttke | System-tray app (Windows and Linux) | Claude only: the limits shared by claude.ai, Claude Code, Cowork and the IDE extensions | Yes, in the system tray | Configurable threshold notifications per quota, and reset notifications | Free, MIT |
| ClaudeUsageWinsr-kai | System-tray app (.NET) | Claude only | Yes, in the system tray | Toasts when a session finishes or needs input (not usage thresholds) | Free, MIT |
| ccusageccusage (ryoppippi) | CLI reports; a live view of Claude’s 5-hour block; a Claude Code status line (beta) | Claude Code, Codex, Copilot CLI, Gemini CLI and others (18 listed); Cursor not listed | No, you run it when you want to look | Not stated | Free, MIT |
| CodeBurngetagentseal | Cost tracker: desktop app, tray app, CLI and web dashboard | 41 coding tools per its README; live limits for Claude, Codex, Gemini, Copilot, Kimi and Antigravity | Yes, today’s spend in the tray; optional quota rings at the screen edge | Claude Code spend caps through opt-in hooks | Free, MIT; no paid tier |
| Tokscalejunhoyeo | CLI and terminal UI, plus a web leaderboard | Over 50 clients in its README, including Claude Code, Codex CLI, Copilot CLI, Cursor and Gemini CLI | No, run on demand | Not stated | Free, MIT |
| Claude Code Usage MonitorMaciek-roboblog | Live terminal dashboard | Claude Code only | While its terminal window stays open | Early warnings inside the terminal; no OS notifications stated | Free, MIT |
| Claude Code Usage Status (VS Code)mhelbich | VS Code status-bar item | Claude Code: the 5-hour and 7-day windows | Yes, while VS Code is open | Turns yellow at 60% and red at 90% by default; both thresholds configurable | Free, MIT |
Each tool, in its own words
SessionWatcher · Soren Starck (ours)
- Install
- Installer, x64 and ARM64 (not code-signed yet, SmartScreen asks once)
- Latest release
- Windows 1.0.1
- Worth knowing
- First-party description of our own product, from our facts page. Several Claude and Codex accounts side by side on Pro, on Windows as on the Mac.
- Source
- sessionwatcher.com/windows
Claude Code Usage Monitor · CodeZeno
- Install
- winget (CodeZeno.ClaudeCodeUsageMonitor) or the release exe; Windows 10 or 11
- Latest release
- v2.18.1, October 5, 2026
- Worth knowing
- Detects Claude Code credentials from the CLI, the desktop app or WSL. Not the same project as Maciek-roboblog’s tool of the same name.
- Source
- github.com/CodeZeno/Claude-Code-Usage-Monitor, read October 6, 2026
Win-CodexBar · nesszer (fork of CodexBar)
- Install
- winget (Finesssee.Win-CodexBar), installer or portable exe
- Latest release
- v0.70.0, October 3, 2026
- Worth knowing
- The README says code signing through SignPath is wired up but not yet active, and asks you to verify the SHA-256 files. Browser-cookie import is opt-in per provider.
- Source
- github.com/nesszer/Win-CodexBar, read October 6, 2026
OpenQuota · deviffyy
- Install
- x64 and ARM64 installers from GitHub releases
- Latest release
- v0.5.0, August 24, 2026
- Worth knowing
- The README says Windows installers are not Authenticode-signed by default, so SmartScreen may ask. No account, cloud backend or telemetry of its own.
- Source
- github.com/deviffyy/OpenQuota, read October 6, 2026
Syrtis for Windows · Nanako0129 (port of TokenBar)
- Install
- Installer (x64 or ARM64, full or lite) or Scoop; winget not published yet
- Latest release
- v1.0.0, October 6, 2026
- Worth knowing
- A first stable release on the day we read it.
- Source
- github.com/Nanako0129/Syrtis-Windows, read October 6, 2026
Usage Monitor for Claude · Jens Duttke
- Install
- Portable exe or winget (jens-duttke.usage-monitor-for-claude)
- Latest release
- v1.23.0, September 22, 2026
- Worth knowing
- Unofficial. The README warns antivirus heuristics may flag the exe, and says it runs `claude update` itself when the login token expires.
- Source
- github.com/jens-duttke/usage-monitor-for-claude, read October 6, 2026
ClaudeUsageWin · sr-kai
- Install
- Portable exe; needs the .NET 8 runtime
- Latest release
- v1.6.1, June 14, 2026
- Worth knowing
- The README says it “uses an undocumented API that could change at any time”.
- Source
- github.com/sr-kai/claudeusagewin, read October 6, 2026
ccusage · ccusage (ryoppippi)
- Install
- npx ccusage@latest, or bunx / pnpm dlx
- Latest release
- v20.0.26, September 27, 2026
- Worth knowing
- Windows is not mentioned in the README, but the package ships a native Windows x64 binary. Costs are computed from local logs.
- Source
- github.com/ccusage/ccusage, read October 6, 2026
CodeBurn · getagentseal
- Install
- Microsoft Store (recommended), or an unsigned preview installer; the tray needs the npm CLI
- Latest release
- Desktop app 0.9.25
- Worth knowing
- Built for cost by project, model, branch and task rather than for plan limits. It also scans agents that run inside WSL.
- Source
- github.com/getagentseal/codeburn, read October 6, 2026
Tokscale · junhoyeo
- Install
- bunx tokscale@latest or npx tokscale@latest
- Latest release
- v4.18.0, October 5, 2026
- Worth knowing
- States it “fully supports Windows”. Its `submit` command uploads your usage to a public leaderboard.
- Source
- github.com/junhoyeo/tokscale, read October 6, 2026
Claude Code Usage Monitor · Maciek-roboblog
- Install
- uv tool install claude-monitor, pip or pipx (Python 3.9+)
- Latest release
- v4.0.0, June 27, 2026
- Worth knowing
- No explicit Windows statement, but the README gives Windows commands.
- Source
- github.com/Maciek-roboblog/Claude-Code-Usage-Monitor, read October 6, 2026
Claude Code Usage Status (VS Code) · mhelbich
- Install
- VS Code Marketplace
- Latest release
- No tagged releases; last change October 6, 2026
- Worth knowing
- Reads the local Claude login token to call Anthropic’s usage endpoint. Small project.
- Source
- github.com/mhelbich/VS-Code-Claude-Usage, read October 6, 2026
The built-in way, for each tool
Every provider has a free way to look. None of them stays on screen, so each is a check you have to remember to make.
- Claude Code:
/usageshows plan usage bars and a breakdown computed from local session history on that machine (Anthropic docs). - Codex:
/statusin the CLI, or the usage page at chatgpt.com/codex/settings/usage (OpenAI docs). - Cursor: the Spending tab of the dashboard shows usage for both pools and on-demand charges (Cursor help).
- GitHub Copilot: click the Copilot icon in the editor status bar, or open AI usage under github.com/settings/billing (GitHub docs).
- Gemini CLI:
/stats modelfor the current session (Gemini CLI docs).
Where SessionWatcher fits
We make SessionWatcher, so weigh this accordingly. It is the paid option here, and several free apps above cover part of what it does. What the money buys, specifically: the readout placed inside the Windows 11 taskbar beside the clock for 20 AI coding tools, notifications at 70% and 90% of each limit (or every 10%) and on reset, several Claude and Codex accounts side by side on Pro, one licence that also covers your Mac (where the iPhone and Apple Watch companion, in beta, syncs from), and a developer who answers email, with a 14-day refund. The 7-day trial unlocks all of Pro with no card. If you only use Claude and want it free, a Claude-only tray app is the simpler choice, and we would rather say so.
One thing to know before installing: the Windows installer is not code-signed yet, so SmartScreen shows "Windows protected your PC" once. Click More info, then Run anyway. Details, requirements and pricing are on the SessionWatcher for Windows page; what the readout shows, and the floating and tray alternatives, are on Claude and Codex usage in the Windows taskbar. Buying for a team? Pro for Teams is the company plan (Macs only for now; Windows teams can email us).
Frequently asked questions
What is the best AI usage tracker for Windows?
It depends on how many tools you use and whether you want the number always in view. For several AI coding tools at once, the free options are CodeZeno’s Claude Code Usage Monitor (taskbar, seven tools, several Claude and Codex accounts), Win-CodexBar (tray, 56 providers per its README) and OpenQuota (tray, twelve providers, also on macOS and Linux). SessionWatcher (ours, paid) puts 20 tools inside the taskbar with notifications at 70% and 90% of a limit and one licence for Mac and Windows. For Claude alone, Usage Monitor for Claude is a free tray app with threshold notifications. For cost reports, CodeBurn, ccusage and Tokscale are free. We have not installed or tested the third-party tools; every claim about them comes from their own documentation, read October 6, 2026.
Can I see Claude Code usage in the Windows taskbar?
Yes. SessionWatcher for Windows puts Claude Code’s 5-hour session and weekly limit inside the Windows 11 taskbar (and in a small window beside it on Windows 10), next to any other AI tools you use. CodeZeno’s free Claude Code Usage Monitor also documents a taskbar widget. Several free apps show Claude usage in the system tray instead.
Is there a free Claude Code usage tracker for Windows?
Yes, several, all MIT-licensed per their repositories: CodeZeno’s Claude Code Usage Monitor (taskbar), Win-CodexBar, OpenQuota and Syrtis for Windows (tray, several providers), Usage Monitor for Claude and ClaudeUsageWin (tray, Claude only), CodeBurn, ccusage and Tokscale (cost and usage reports), and a VS Code status-bar extension. Claude Code’s own /usage command is free too.
Is there a CodexBar for Windows?
Not from CodexBar’s author: CodexBar itself runs on macOS 14+ and Linux (its README, read October 6, 2026). Win-CodexBar is a free, MIT-licensed community port for the Windows system tray, installable with winget (Finesssee.Win-CodexBar). CodeZeno’s Claude Code Usage Monitor is a free taskbar widget that also covers Codex and Cursor, and SessionWatcher for Windows is the paid option, with the readout inside the taskbar and one licence for Mac and Windows.
What is the best Codex usage limit tracker for Windows?
For Codex alone, a free taskbar or tray app is enough for most people: CodeZeno’s Claude Code Usage Monitor (which also handles several Codex accounts), Win-CodexBar and OpenQuota all show Codex usage limits. SessionWatcher (paid) is the pick if you want the readout inside the taskbar for Codex and up to 19 other tools, warnings at 70% and 90% of a limit, or one licence for a Mac and a PC. Without installing anything, run /status in the Codex CLI or open chatgpt.com/codex/settings/usage.
Does SessionWatcher for Windows cost extra if I have it on a Mac?
No. One licence key works on Mac and Windows. Solo and Bundle cover one device, Pro covers up to five, in any mix of Macs and PCs.
How do I check Claude Code, Codex, Cursor or Copilot usage on Windows without installing anything?
Run /usage in Claude Code; run /status in the Codex CLI or open chatgpt.com/codex/settings/usage; open the Spending tab of the Cursor dashboard; click the Copilot icon in the VS Code status bar or open github.com/settings/billing; run /stats model in Gemini CLI. Each is manual: you have to stop and look.
On a Mac instead? See the best AI usage trackers for Mac.
SessionWatcherEvery AI tool you use.
One taskbar.
Native app for the Mac menu bar and the Windows taskbar. Track Claude, Codex and 18 more tools' usage, costs, and rate limits in real time.


“Fast, simple, and does exactly what it should. Definitely worth it.”
@nicojerome on GitHub
Prices go up Nov 1, midnight Paris time. Prices go up Nov 1
macOS 14+. Free for 7 days, no credit card.
For Mac (macOS 14+). Claude Code and everything in Pro are included. Nothing is charged when it ends.




Compared head to head
One page per tool, each starting with when that tool is the better choice than SessionWatcher.

