Home / Guides / Best AI Usage Trackers for Mac

Best AI Usage Trackers for Mac (2026)

On a Mac the choice is settled by a few documented facts before taste enters it: the macOS version a tool requires, whether it runs on your architecture, which providers it covers, whether it warns you, and what it needs access to. This page lines those up for eleven trackers from each project's own source, with the date each source was read. It names no winner and ranks nothing.

Last updated October 6, 2026 · Checked October 2026 · By Soren Starck · Every source was re-read on October 6, 2026 except our own release manifest, which carries its own date. Nothing here is a test result.

On Windows? This page covers Mac trackers only; see the best AI usage trackers for Windows. CodexBar has no Windows build from its author; OpenQuota and SessionWatcher run on both.

How to read this page

  • Every claim carries its own source and its own read date. The October 2026 refresh re-read every external source the same day, so most dates match; our own release manifest keeps its earlier date.
  • External rows are labelled “External publisher/project claim: not independently tested”. They report what each publisher or project documents about itself.
  • Our own row is labelled “First-party SessionWatcher claim: not independently tested”. SessionWatcher is our product and its row is a disclosed first-party description, not a comparison result.
  • Recommendations and inferences are labelled editorial. Anything not traceable to a dated source is our judgment and is marked as such.
  • Nothing here is a ranking. No safety ranking, no quality ranking, no “winner”. Documented minimums, coverage lists and prices move between releases: open the linked source before relying on a row.

Row by row, with sources and read dates

Each row answers the same nine Mac questions from that tool's own documentation, and each answer links the source it was read from with the date it was read. Nothing in these rows is a test result.

CodexBar

External publisher/project claim: not independently tested

Peter Steinberger (steipete), open-source project, MIT

The broadest provider list on this page, free, with a Linux desktop app and a CLI besides the Mac menu bar.

Documented macOS minimum
The README states macOS 14 (Sonoma) or later. Homebrew’s cask metadata records the same minimum.CodexBar README (steipete), verified October 6, 2026 · Homebrew cask metadata for CodexBar, verified October 6, 2026
Intel or Apple SiliconSource is silent
Not stated for the menu bar app in the README we read. Its command-line builds ship for both Apple Silicon (arm64) and Intel (x86_64).CodexBar README (steipete), verified October 6, 2026
Provider scope
The README lists 91 providers, including Codex, Claude, Cursor, Gemini, Copilot, Antigravity, OpenRouter, z.ai, Kimi, Devin and Grok.CodexBar README (steipete), verified October 6, 2026
Menu bar, reports, alerts
One menu bar item per provider, or merged into one with a switcher. Session, weekly and monthly windows with reset countdowns, credits and spend, provider status, WidgetKit widgets, and optional session quota notifications. For Codex it lists banked resets with their expiry and does not redeem them.CodexBar README (steipete), verified October 6, 2026
Access and authentication
Reuses existing provider sessions: OAuth, device flow, API keys, browser cookies (opt-in) or local files, depending on the provider; the README says no passwords are stored. Full Disk Access is optional, for Safari cookies only.CodexBar README (steipete), verified October 6, 2026
Outgoing dataSource is silent
States on-device parsing by default and that it reads a small set of known locations. The README we read states no analytics policy either way.CodexBar README (steipete), verified October 6, 2026
Signing and notarizationSource is silent
Not stated in the source we read. That is unknown, not a “no”.CodexBar README (steipete), verified October 6, 2026
Install path
Homebrew cask (codexbar) or GitHub releases. Linux: a Qt 6 desktop app, a Homebrew formula and an AUR package for the CLI. The author ships no Windows build.CodexBar README (steipete), verified October 6, 2026 · Homebrew cask metadata for CodexBar, verified October 6, 2026
Current status
Release v0.72.0, October 4, 2026; about 22,000 GitHub stars.CodexBar v0.72.0 release, verified October 6, 2026

Claude Usage Tracker

External publisher/project claim: not independently tested

Hamed Elfayome, open-source project, MIT

The deepest Claude-only feature set here, free: unlimited accounts, per-model limits, API Console costs and a status line, with Codex added in v3.3.0.

Documented macOS minimum
The README states macOS 14.0 (Sonoma) or later.Claude Usage Tracker README (hamed-elfayome), verified October 6, 2026
Intel or Apple SiliconSource is silent
Not stated in the source we read. That is unknown, not a “no”.Claude Usage Tracker README (hamed-elfayome), verified October 6, 2026
Provider scope
Claude (5-hour session, weekly and per-model limits, API Console usage and costs) and, since v3.3.0, OpenAI Codex.Claude Usage Tracker README (hamed-elfayome), verified October 6, 2026
Menu bar, reports, alerts
Menu bar, with every profile shown at once if you choose. Threshold notifications at 75%, 90% and 95% plus custom thresholds, usage history charts, a Claude Code status line integration, and a beta notch display of what Claude Code is doing.Claude Usage Tracker README (hamed-elfayome), verified October 6, 2026
Access and authentication
Uses Claude Code’s existing login automatically, an in-app browser sign-in, or a session key you paste. Credentials are kept in the macOS Keychain. Unlimited profiles, each with its own credentials and an optional claude-<profile> terminal command.Claude Usage Tracker README (hamed-elfayome), verified October 6, 2026
Outgoing data
States “minimal anonymous analytics”: a version-only heartbeat every 24 hours, no personal data, no credentials, no usage data, and no cloud sync.Claude Usage Tracker README (hamed-elfayome), verified October 6, 2026
Signing and notarization
States the app is signed with an Apple Developer certificate (since v2.0.0); its download badge says signed and notarized.Claude Usage Tracker README (hamed-elfayome), verified October 6, 2026
Install path
A Homebrew tap (hamed-elfayome/claude-usage), Nix, a direct download, or a build from source. Updates in-app.Claude Usage Tracker README (hamed-elfayome), verified October 6, 2026
Current status
Release v3.3.0, August 29, 2026; about 3,600 GitHub stars. Several browser extensions share the name; this row is the Mac app.Claude Usage Tracker v3.3.0 release, verified October 6, 2026

Usagebar

External publisher/project claim: not independently tested

usagebar.com, commercial product

A paid Claude Code menu bar app, $9 one-time per its site, and the one here that warns about the session context window as well as the plan limit.

Documented macOS minimumSource is silent
The site lists macOS as the platform without a minimum version.usagebar.com (publisher site), verified October 6, 2026
Intel or Apple SiliconSource is silent
Not stated in the source we read. That is unknown, not a “no”.usagebar.com (publisher site), verified October 6, 2026
Provider scope
Claude Code only.usagebar.com (publisher site), verified October 6, 2026
Menu bar, reports, alerts
Menu bar reading of the 5-hour and weekly windows with reset timers and the session context left. Notifications at 50%, 75% and 90%, plus a low-context warning.usagebar.com (publisher site), verified October 6, 2026
Access and authentication
Reads Claude Code’s credentials from the Keychain; Claude Code must be installed and signed in.usagebar.com (publisher site), verified October 6, 2026
Outgoing data
The site states tokens never leave your Mac except to call Anthropic’s usage API, and that credentials are not synced to any server.usagebar.com (publisher site), verified October 6, 2026
Signing and notarizationSource is silent
Not stated in the source we read. That is unknown, not a “no”.usagebar.com (publisher site), verified October 6, 2026
Install path
Bought through a Stripe checkout linked from the site: $9 one-time, “lifetime updates”.usagebar.com (publisher site), verified October 6, 2026
Current status
Commercial product; the site shows no version number.usagebar.com (publisher site), verified October 6, 2026

OpenQuota

External publisher/project claim: not independently tested

deviffyy, open-source project, MIT

A free cross-platform tray and menu bar app, with the lowest documented macOS floor on this page.

Documented macOS minimum
The README states macOS 11 or later.OpenQuota README (deviffyy), verified October 6, 2026
Intel or Apple Silicon
A universal DMG for Apple Silicon and Intel.OpenQuota README (deviffyy), verified October 6, 2026
Provider scope
Twelve: Claude Code (several accounts), Codex, Cursor, Antigravity, Copilot, Devin, Grok, OpenCode, OpenRouter, Z.ai, Kimi and MiniMax.OpenQuota README (deviffyy), verified October 6, 2026
Menu bar, reports, alerts
A compact popup or a floating panel, with pinned values in the macOS menu bar, 30 days of token and estimated-spend history, and pacing alerts.OpenQuota README (deviffyy), verified October 6, 2026
Access and authentication
Most providers use credentials already on the computer; OpenRouter, Z.ai, Kimi and MiniMax need an API key, kept in the system credential store. Codex limits need a ChatGPT login.OpenQuota README (deviffyy), verified October 6, 2026
Outgoing data
States no account, cloud backend, analytics or usage telemetry of its own. It checks for updates automatically.OpenQuota README (deviffyy), verified October 6, 2026
Signing and notarization
States the macOS app uses an ad-hoc signature and is not notarized by default, so Gatekeeper may ask; update payloads are signed with the project’s own key.OpenQuota README (deviffyy), verified October 6, 2026
Install path
A DMG from GitHub releases. Also on Windows and Linux.OpenQuota README (deviffyy), verified October 6, 2026
Current status
Release v0.5.0, August 24, 2026.OpenQuota v0.5.0 release, verified October 6, 2026

ClaudeBar

External publisher/project claim: not independently tested

tddworks, open-source project, Apache-2.0

A menu-bar quota monitor across a long list of coding assistants, documented against a higher macOS floor than the rest of this page.

Documented macOS minimum
The README states macOS 15 or later. Homebrew’s cask metadata records the same macOS 15 or later requirement.ClaudeBar README (tddworks), verified October 6, 2026 · Homebrew cask metadata for ClaudeBar, verified October 6, 2026
Intel or Apple SiliconSource is silent
Not stated in the source we read. That is unknown, not a “no”.ClaudeBar README (tddworks), verified October 6, 2026
Provider scope
Described as covering “Claude, Codex, Gemini, Copilot, Cursor and 15 more”; its provider table also names Antigravity, Z.ai, Kimi, OpenRouter, Devin and Grok, among others.ClaudeBar README (tddworks), verified October 6, 2026
Menu bar, reports, alerts
Reset countdowns, a notification before you run out, warning and critical levels with pace-aware colours, and an optional quota display on the iPhone Lock Screen and Home Screen.ClaudeBar README (tddworks), verified October 6, 2026
Access and authentication
Each provider is turned on in Settings, and each provider’s doc says what it needs.ClaudeBar README (tddworks), verified October 6, 2026
Outgoing dataSource is silent
Not stated in the README we read, so this page makes no claim in either direction.ClaudeBar README (tddworks), verified October 6, 2026
Signing and notarization
States the DMG is signed and notarized.ClaudeBar README (tddworks), verified October 6, 2026
Install path
A Homebrew cask (claudebar) or the DMG from GitHub releases.Homebrew cask metadata for ClaudeBar, verified October 6, 2026 · ClaudeBar README (tddworks), verified October 6, 2026
Current status
Release v0.5.8, October 6, 2026.ClaudeBar v0.5.8 release, verified October 6, 2026

Syrtis (formerly TokenBar)

External publisher/project claim: not independently tested

Nanako0129, open-source project, MIT

A token, cost and quota monitor across 25+ agents that renamed itself from TokenBar at version 2.0, with a Windows port on the same core.

Documented macOS minimum
The README states macOS 14 or later.Syrtis README (Nanako0129, formerly TokenBar), verified October 6, 2026
Intel or Apple Silicon
The README names Apple Silicon (arm64) and does not mention Intel.Syrtis README (Nanako0129, formerly TokenBar), verified October 6, 2026
Provider scope
Described as supporting 25+ tools, including Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, OpenCode, Gemini CLI, Copilot, Kiro and Antigravity.Syrtis README (Nanako0129, formerly TokenBar), verified October 6, 2026
Menu bar, reports, alerts
The menu bar title shows today’s tokens, cost, tokens per minute or quota left; a panel adds quota, model, daily, hourly and monthly views. The README we read does not document threshold alerts.Syrtis README (Nanako0129, formerly TokenBar), verified October 6, 2026
Access and authentication
Reads the session logs your AI tools write to disk; live quota cards use the providers’ own sign-ins.Syrtis README (Nanako0129, formerly TokenBar), verified October 6, 2026
Outgoing data
States it is local-first and needs no Syrtis account.Syrtis README (Nanako0129, formerly TokenBar), verified October 6, 2026
Signing and notarization
States releases are signed with a Developer ID and notarized by Apple. (As TokenBar in August, it described ad-hoc, unnotarized builds.)Syrtis README (Nanako0129, formerly TokenBar), verified October 6, 2026
Install path
A Homebrew tap (nanako0129/tap/syrtis) or GitHub releases, with in-app updates.Syrtis README (Nanako0129, formerly TokenBar), verified October 6, 2026
Current status
Release v2.4.1, October 6, 2026.Syrtis v2.4.1 release, verified October 6, 2026

Codex Limits

External publisher/project claim: not independently tested

thrr87, open-source project, MIT

A Codex pacing specialist: weekly usage left, runway, banked resets and the local tasks the Mac observed, now with opt-in Claude Code and Grok.

Documented macOS minimum
The README states macOS 14 or later.Codex Limits README (thrr87), verified October 6, 2026
Intel or Apple Silicon
The README states that stable releases include a universal app for Apple Silicon and Intel.Codex Limits README (thrr87), verified October 6, 2026
Provider scope
Codex, plus opt-in Claude Code (experimental) and Grok (beta) integrations since version 0.3.0. The README calls the project “an independent, unofficial project”.Codex Limits README (thrr87), verified October 6, 2026
Menu bar, reports, alerts
A menu bar app showing weekly usage remaining, the reset time, banked resets, runway and a suggested pace, with a local reminder 24 hours before the next banked reset expires.Codex Limits README (thrr87), verified October 6, 2026
Access and authentication
Needs a signed-in standalone Codex CLI on the same Mac and reads account data through it; keeps each Codex account separate.Codex Limits README (thrr87), verified October 6, 2026
Outgoing data
Its privacy section states that analytics are local by default and that it sends an analysis request to Codex only when you choose an “Analyze with Codex” action. Optional history sync copies Codex usage samples to a folder you choose.Codex Limits README (thrr87), verified October 6, 2026
Signing and notarization
States that the stable release is not Developer ID signed and not notarized; in-app updates are verified with Sparkle.Codex Limits README (thrr87), verified October 6, 2026
Install path
The project’s stable release download, or a build from source. The README we read documents no Homebrew cask for the app itself.Codex Limits README (thrr87), verified October 6, 2026
Current status
Release v0.3.2, September 16, 2026.Codex Limits v0.3.2 release, verified October 6, 2026

ClaudeMeter

External publisher/project claim: not independently tested

eddmann, open-source project, MIT

Claude.ai plan limits in the menu bar, with an authentication caveat the project raises itself.

Documented macOS minimum
The README states macOS 14.0 (Sonoma) or later.ClaudeMeter README (eddmann), verified October 6, 2026
Intel or Apple SiliconSource is silent
Not stated in the source we read. That is unknown, not a “no”.ClaudeMeter README (eddmann), verified October 6, 2026
Provider scope
Claude.ai plan limits only: the 5-hour session, the 7-day weekly and the Sonnet-specific limit.ClaudeMeter README (eddmann), verified October 6, 2026
Menu bar, reports, alerts
Documents configurable warning and critical threshold alerts (defaults 75% and 90%) and native macOS notifications at those thresholds.ClaudeMeter README (eddmann), verified October 6, 2026
Access and authentication
Imports your claude.ai session from local browser cookies, or takes a pasted session key. The project’s own disclaimer says the method “may violate Anthropic’s Terms of Service”.ClaudeMeter README (eddmann), verified October 6, 2026
Outgoing dataSource is silent
States session keys are kept in the macOS Keychain on the device. The README we read states no analytics policy.ClaudeMeter README (eddmann), verified October 6, 2026
Signing and notarization
States that the app is signed and notarized by Apple.ClaudeMeter README (eddmann), verified October 6, 2026
Install path
Documents Homebrew installation and a manual GitHub Releases download that is unzipped and moved to Applications.ClaudeMeter README (eddmann), verified October 6, 2026
Current status
Release v1.4.0, May 19, 2026, which was also the last change to the repository when we read it.ClaudeMeter v1.4.0 release, verified October 6, 2026

cc-bar

External publisher/project claim: not independently tested

nanvon, open-source project, MIT

A menu bar app with a floating panel for quotas and local token statistics, whose build is not notarized.

Documented macOS minimum
The project README states macOS 14 (Sonoma) or later.cc-bar README (nanvon; Chinese), verified October 6, 2026
Intel or Apple SiliconSource is silent
Not stated in the source we read. That is unknown, not a “no”.cc-bar README (nanvon; Chinese), verified October 6, 2026
Provider scope
Documents remaining quota for Codex, Claude Code, Antigravity, Cursor and Command Code, plus local token and cost statistics for Codex, Claude Code, Pi, OpenCode and DeepSeek Harness.cc-bar README (nanvon; Chinese), verified October 6, 2026
Menu bar, reports, alerts
A menu bar app and a floating desktop panel, with quota timelines and per-project usage statistics. The README we read does not document threshold alerts.cc-bar README (nanvon; Chinese), verified October 6, 2026
Access and authentication
States that it reads Codex and Claude Code local credentials and local session logs; Cursor usage comes from Cursor’s server-side metering.cc-bar README (nanvon; Chinese), verified October 6, 2026
Outgoing dataSource is silent
Not stated in the source we read about outgoing data. The project README is in Chinese; this page does not draw an outgoing-data conclusion from that silence.cc-bar README (nanvon; Chinese), verified October 6, 2026
Signing and notarization
States that the released app is ad-hoc signed and not notarized.cc-bar README (nanvon; Chinese), verified October 6, 2026
Install path
A DMG or zipped app from GitHub releases.cc-bar README (nanvon; Chinese), verified October 6, 2026
Current status
Release v1.1.4, October 6, 2026.cc-bar v1.1.4 release, verified October 6, 2026

Claude Code /usage (Anthropic, official)

External publisher/project claim: not independently tested

Anthropic, the provider itself

The one official view kept on this page: it is authoritative for Claude Code, and the caveats every third-party Claude reading inherits come from it.

Documented macOS minimum
Not a separately distributed Mac app: /usage is built into Claude Code, so Claude Code’s own requirements apply rather than a macOS minimum documented here.Anthropic, Manage costs effectively, verified October 6, 2026
Intel or Apple Silicon
Not applicable, for the same reason.Anthropic, Manage costs effectively, verified October 6, 2026
Provider scope
Claude Code only.Anthropic, Manage costs effectively, verified October 6, 2026
Menu bar, reports, alerts
Documents a Session block and, on Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise, a plan usage breakdown with a 24-hour and 7-day toggle. No threshold alerts are documented on that page.Anthropic, Manage costs effectively, verified October 6, 2026
Access and authentication
Uses your existing Claude Code sign-in; the breakdown is computed from local session history on that machine.Anthropic, Manage costs effectively, verified October 6, 2026
Outgoing data
The page documents where the figures come from rather than an outgoing-data policy: the breakdown is approximate, computed from local session history, and excludes usage from other devices and from claude.ai.Anthropic, Manage costs effectively, verified October 6, 2026
Signing and notarization
Not applicable: a built-in command, not a separately distributed Mac app.Anthropic, Manage costs effectively, verified October 6, 2026
Install path
Already present in Claude Code; run /usage inside a session.Anthropic, Manage costs effectively, verified October 6, 2026
Current status
Read on October 6, 2026. Anthropic publishes this as current guidance, and product documentation changes without a version number.Anthropic, Manage costs effectively, verified October 6, 2026

SessionWatcher

First-party SessionWatcher claim: not independently tested

SessionWatcher, our own commercial product

Our own product, described here only as its publisher and its dated release manifest describe it. It is on this page because it is a Mac menu-bar tracker, not because anything on this page placed it above another tool: nothing here is ordered.

Documented macOS minimum
Our own site states macOS 14 (Sonoma) and later. Homebrew’s cask metadata for sessionwatcher records the same minimum.sessionwatcher.com/facts (our own site), verified October 6, 2026 · Homebrew cask metadata for SessionWatcher, verified October 6, 2026
Intel or Apple Silicon
Our own site states both Apple Silicon and Intel.sessionwatcher.com/facts (our own site), verified October 6, 2026
Provider scope
Our release-pinned manifest for app 7.5.1 records 20 tools: Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, GitHub Copilot, Gemini CLI, Antigravity, opencode, Devin, Grok, Grok Bot, OpenRouter, Z.ai, Kimi / Kimi Code workflows, Qwen, DeepSeek, Synthetic, Fireworks AI, TypeSafe AI (Jev), Command Code, Mistral Vibe. Claude Code, Codex and Cursor can be bought on their own; the others come with Pro.our release-pinned product manifest, app 7.5.1 (first-party, not public), verified September 24, 2026 · sessionwatcher.com/facts (our own site), verified October 6, 2026
Menu bar, reports, alerts
Our own site states a live menu-bar reading of limits, reset times, pace and estimated cost, refreshed about every 90 seconds, with notifications at 70% and 90% by default (or every 10%) and on reset. Pro adds several Claude and Codex accounts side by side; desktop widgets and an iPhone and Apple Watch companion (TestFlight beta) are Mac features.sessionwatcher.com/facts (our own site), verified October 6, 2026
Access and authentication
Setup differs per tool in the same manifest: Claude Code, Codex and Cursor are read from the login already on the Mac; OpenRouter and Z.ai need a provider API key; Qwen, TypeSafe AI and Mistral Vibe use a provider session cookie; Kimi and Command Code are recorded as mixed. There is no single credential-free setup covering every tool.our release-pinned product manifest, app 7.5.1 (first-party, not public), verified September 24, 2026 · sessionwatcher.com/facts (our own site), verified October 6, 2026
Outgoing data
The same manifest records that some monitors query provider APIs from your Mac, and that license validation sends a license key and device metadata. It records that code and conversation content are not read. These are our own dated records rather than an independent audit, and this page makes no local-only claim for SessionWatcher.our release-pinned product manifest, app 7.5.1 (first-party, not public), verified September 24, 2026
Signing and notarization
Our own site states the app is signed and notarized by Apple. Notarization is a distribution check, not an Apple endorsement, review or security audit.sessionwatcher.com/facts (our own site), verified October 6, 2026
Install path
A direct download from our own site, or the official Homebrew cask (brew install --cask sessionwatcher). The same licence key also works in the Windows app.Homebrew cask metadata for SessionWatcher, verified October 6, 2026 · sessionwatcher.com/facts (our own site), verified October 6, 2026
Current status
App 7.5.1 in our release-pinned manifest. SessionWatcher is paid, with a 7-day free trial; current terms live on our pricing page and are not restated here.our release-pinned product manifest, app 7.5.1 (first-party, not public), verified September 24, 2026

What we could not verify

  • No hands-on comparison. We did not install, launch or use any tool on this page, including our own. Nothing here is a test result.
  • No security audit. No privacy, telemetry, credential or data-path statement above was audited. Every one is a publisher or project statement, ours included.
  • No accuracy benchmark. We did not compare any tool's numbers against a provider's billing or plan data, so this page makes no accuracy claim about any of them.
  • No provider-by-provider live test. Coverage lists were read, not exercised. A named provider does not prove a working connection on your Mac, your plan and your account.
  • Source gaps are marked, not filled. “Not stated in the source we read” means unknown. cc-bar's README is in Chinese; this page does not fill an outgoing-data gap from that silence. Repository timestamps and release dates are supply signals, not quality evidence.
  • No safety ranking exists on this page. Signing and notarization differences are provenance and install-friction facts. We did not audit any build, and we do not order these tools by safety, privacy or quality.

Three different numbers, three different sources

Trackers put percent and dollar signs next to figures that are not interchangeable:

  • A plan-limit percentage comes from the provider and describes your subscription window.
  • A token total can be aggregated from local session files. Anthropic states of its own /usage breakdown that the figures are approximate, computed from local session history on that machine, and do not include usage from other devices or from claude.ai.
  • A dollar figure computed locally is an estimate. Anthropic notes Claude Code prices its session figure at list price, so it may differ from your actual bill. Your account billing view is authoritative.

Source: Anthropic, Manage costs effectively, verified October 6, 2026.

How we would narrow this down

Editorial judgment: our reading of the sources above, not a test result

Start by eliminating on the two facts you cannot negotiate with: your macOS version and your Mac's architecture. That alone removes tools before any feature comparison. Then match provider scope to the tools you actually pay for, rather than to the largest advertised list. Then decide whether you want a warning before a limit or only a number to look at, and how many accounts you need to see at once. Only then weigh access and install trust: what each tool reads, what it sends, and whether its build is notarized. If two tools still fit, the free one is the sensible first try.

When SessionWatcher is not the right answer

Editorial judgment: our reading of the sources above, not a test result

SessionWatcher is commercial and has no Linux build, so it is the wrong answer for Linux. If CodexBar covers your providers on a Mac, it does so for free. If Claude on one Mac is all you track, Claude Usage Tracker or Anthropic's built-in /usage is enough. It also does not show the session context window, export data, or replace your provider's billing page.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best AI usage tracker for Mac?

This page names no single winner, because the answer depends on your tools and your Mac, and we did not install or test any of these apps, ours included. By shape, from each project’s own docs read October 6, 2026: for many providers and free, CodexBar lists 91 and also runs on Linux; for Claude alone and free, Claude Usage Tracker adds unlimited accounts; for Codex pacing, Codex Limits; for a paid Claude-only app with a context warning, Usagebar. SessionWatcher, ours and paid, is the shape for one licence across a Mac and a Windows PC, several Claude and Codex accounts, and an iPhone and Apple Watch companion in beta.

Which macOS versions and which Macs do these trackers document?

They differ, and the difference disqualifies tools outright. ClaudeBar documents macOS 15 or later. OpenQuota documents macOS 11 or later with a universal build, the lowest floor here. Syrtis (formerly TokenBar) documents macOS 14 or later and names Apple Silicon only. Codex Limits documents a universal release for Apple Silicon and Intel. CodexBar, Claude Usage Tracker, ClaudeMeter and cc-bar document macOS 14 or later without stating Intel support. SessionWatcher is ours: our own site states macOS 14 (Sonoma) and later on both Apple Silicon and Intel, a first-party claim. SessionWatcher also has a Windows app, which is outside this Mac comparison.

Do these Mac trackers only read local files?

No, and treating them as interchangeable on that point would be a mistake. OpenQuota states it has no account, cloud backend, analytics or usage telemetry of its own. Claude Usage Tracker states it sends a version-only analytics heartbeat every 24 hours. Codex Limits keeps analytics local by default and sends data to Codex only when you choose an Analyze action. ClaudeMeter documents an unofficial browser-authentication method and carries its own disclaimer that the method may violate Anthropic’s Terms of Service. For SessionWatcher, our own release manifest records that some monitors query provider APIs from your Mac and that license validation sends a license key and device metadata, so we make no local-only claim for it either. Every one of those is a publisher or project statement, not an audit result.

Do these trackers show exactly the same numbers?

No, and you should not expect them to. A plan-limit percentage read from a provider, a token total aggregated from local session files, and a locally computed dollar estimate are three different figures. Anthropic notes that its own /usage breakdown figures are approximate and computed from local session history on that machine, so usage from other devices or claude.ai is not included, and that the session dollar figure is computed at list price and may differ from your actual bill. Your account billing view is what settles what you pay. We did not compare any tool’s numbers against a provider’s billing data, so this page makes no accuracy claim about any of them.

First-party SessionWatcher claim: not independently tested

One menu bar for the tools in our release manifest.
The same key on Windows.

SessionWatcher is our own commercial product, described here as our own site and dated release manifest describe it: a signed and notarized menu-bar app for macOS 14 (Sonoma) and later, on Apple Silicon and Intel, covering 20 AI coding tools. Setup differs per tool. The 7-day trial unlocks all of Pro.

Download for MacDownload free: 7-day trial, no card

Prices go up Nov 1, midnight Paris time. Prices go up Nov 1

Product facts from our own facts page, read October 6, 2026, and our release-pinned manifest for app 7.5.1, verified September 24, 2026.

Related single-tool guides

Compared head to head

One page per tool, each starting with when that tool is the better choice than SessionWatcher.